OUR STORY: 1931 – 1946

Andrew Shaw continued his dominance of the New Zealand Open during the 1931 – 1946 period.

OUR STORY 3 of 10: 1931 – 1946

Throughout the next 10 tournaments, Andrew Shaw continued his dominance on the New Zealand Open capturing four more titles bringing his tally to seven including four consecutive championships between 1929 and 1932. He also finished runner up in three more tournaments bringing his silver medal tally to six.

His seven victories, then a record, came across six different courses with victories at Miramar, Manawatu, Christchurch, Wellington and New Plymouth and two at Wanganui.

There were also three tournaments won by amateurs during this time with John Hornabrook capturing his two titles in Hamilton and Miramar. After a six-year break in the tournament due to World War II, Bob Glading went on to win the first of his two titles at Manawatu.

Between 1931 and 1946 only one tournament was won by a non-kiwi with South Africa’s Bobby Locke who broke the longest winning streak by any nationality (16) by claiming the 1938 title in Otago by three strokes from Andrew Shaw and Basil Smith Jr. Bobby had just turned pro as a 20-year-old and went on to have 74 professional wins including 15 on the PGA Tour and four wins at British Open.

Interestingly, when comparing these 10 tournaments with the previous 10, eight were won by scores under 300 compared to only two and the average winning score dropped almost 10 strokes from 302.4 to 292.6.

The lowest winning total was set by Alex Murray in Christchurch winning by 2 strokes with a 286 total across the four rounds. While the highest winning score was set by Bob Glading who won in a playoff over fellow kiwi Norman Fuller, both finished with a total of 306.

Year Champion Nationality Course Score Winning Margin Runner Up
1931 Andrew Shaw New Zealand Christchurch 287 1 stroke Ewen Macfarlane (a)
1932 Andrew Shaw New Zealand Wellington 289 5 strokes Arthur Duncan (a)
1933 Ernie Moss New Zealand Titirangi 300 Playoff Ted Douglas
1934 Andrew Shaw New Zealand Wanganui 288 5 strokes Norrie Bell
1935 Alex Murray New Zealand Christchurch 286 2 strokes  Andrew Shaw
1936 Andrew Shaw New Zealand New Plymouth 292 5 strokes Tom Galloway
Alf Guy
1937 John Hornabrook (a) New Zealand Hamilton 299 Playoff Ernie Moss
Andrew Shaw
1938 Bobby Locke South Africa Otago 288 3 strokes Andrew Shaw
Basil Smith, Jr.
1939 John Hornabrook (a) New Zealand Miramar 291 3 strokes Alex Murray
1946 Bob Glading (a) New Zealand Manawatu 306 Playoff Norman Fuller

Read the previous articles: Our Story: 1907 – 1920 | Our Story: 1921 – 1930

Sign up for News & Updates


sky white
cip website white
hyundai white
Rebel Sport Logo WHT website
the hills
Send an enquiry

  • Hidden
  • Personal Details

  • Volunteer Role

  • Clothing

  • For general information please contact Benn Ashford at [email protected] and we'll come straight back to you!
Contact Us
[email protected]